top of page

When freedom is not a luxury


Having watched this video, I thought…. very dystopian. Well, maybe that is not the right word to use and “reality” would be more like it. Hard to accept for someone who takes the luxuries of living in a first world country for granted.

I was born and brought up in India with a grandfather who still tells me stories of our fight for freedom. So it is inevitable that I consider freedom to be one of the most premier luxuries of my life. But where I went wrong was in my assumption that every fellow human enjoyed the same level of freedom as I.

And I could not have been any more off the mark. Everyday I meet so many people, all so worked up about how they are fed tailored stories by the media. Well, wait till they move to Belarus. I wonder what they would do once they taste the true bitterness of surveillance and control.

Imagine being forced to live a life which you can’t escape. One that is truly forced upon you. Not because you partied too much and slacked off in college, not because you could not take that well-deserved five star vacation, but because the government that is supposed to protect and nourish your life is instead beating you up to stay impoverished.

Is there a way out? I am not a political expert. And so I say with all the humility I can gather, I do not know. But as someone who has the privilege to express my views freely, I think it is only right that I atleast point out what I saw and help spread awareness to everyone who lives in their little bubble of butterflies and ponies, so that they think twice before complaining about the trivialities of life and try and extend a helping hand to anyone who seeks to live a better life. Because everybody deserves their chance.

Until next time,

❤︎❤︎❤︎

SkatterbrainN.

Sign up to be on the list

Congrats! You’re on our waiting list, we will add you to our exclusive member list as soon as possible.

Sign up to be on the list

Congrats! You’re on our waiting list, we will add you to our exclusive member list as soon as possible.

bottom of page